Menu
TRI Science Addiction The Partnership at Drugfree.org

Send a Link to this Page Via Email

×
State Law In

Oklahoma

What does state law say?

It is against the law for a person to knowingly and willingly permit an underage person to possess or consume any alcoholic beverage and/or controlled substances.

SETTINGS COVERED:
Any building, structure, room, or land that is owned, occupied, leased, or otherwise procured by the host.

What happens if an adult breaks the law?

Adults who are charged with this violation face graduated sentences. A first offense is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum fine of $500. A second offense within 10 years is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum fine of $1,000. A third and subsequent offense within 10 years is a felony punishable by a maximum fine of $2,500 and/or five years of imprisonment by the Department of Corrections. A violation that causes great bodily injury or death of a person is a felony punishable by a minimum fine of $2,500 and maximum of $5,000 and/or five years of imprisonment by the Department of Corrections.

Can adult do anything to rescind the violation?

Not addressed.

Can the adult be sued?

The State of Oklahoma has not enacted a law regarding civil penalties for social hosting.  In the absence of a statute, courts have not found that a social host can be held liable.  In McGee v. Alexander, the court held that “dram-shop”-style liability would not be imposed on a social host.







Share This Page

Select Another State?

Are there local laws that I should be aware of?

It is possible. Check with your local municipality since there are some communities that enact additional local ordinances which can include fines and other penalties.