Menu
TRI Science Addiction The Partnership at Drugfree.org

Send a Link to this Page Via Email

×
State Law In

Ohio

What does state law say?

If it a violation of the law for is the owner or occupant of a public or private place to knowingly allow the consumption of alcohol by an underage person.  For owners of a hotel, inn, cabin, campground or restaurant, the standard is to know or have reason to know that alcohol is being consumed by an underage person.

SETTINGS COVERED:
Public or private place owned or occupied; hotel, inn, cabin, campground, or restaurant.

What happens if an adult breaks the law?

Adults who are charged with this violation face a jail term not to exceed 6 months and/or a fine of $1,000.  A violation of this law is a misdemeanor of the 1st Degree.

Can adult do anything to rescind the violation?

Not Addressed.

Can the adult be sued?

The State of Ohio has not enacted a law regarding civil penalties for social hosting.  In the absence of a statute, courts have found that a social host may be held liable for either the death or injury of a third person caused by an intoxicated minor guest.







Share This Page

Select Another State?

Are there local laws that I should be aware of?

It is possible. Check with your local municipality since there are some communities that enact additional local ordinances which can include fines and other penalties.