Menu
TRI Science Addiction The Partnership at Drugfree.org

Send a Link to this Page Via Email

×
State Law In

Arkansas

What does state law say?

A host may violate the law if they are present and knowingly allow a person under 21 years of age to consume alcohol.

DEFINITIONS WITHIN THE LAW:
The law defines a social host as a person who exercises control over private property.

SETTINGS COVERED:
Private property.

What happens if an adult breaks the law?

Adults who are charged with this violation face graduated sentences. The first violation is a Class C misdemeanor with a maximum fine of $100 and/or maximum sentence of 30 days; a second violation is a Class A misdemeanor with a maximum fine of $1,000 and/or maximum sentence of 1 year; the third violation is a Class D felony with a maximum fine of $10,000 and/or 6 years.

Can adult do anything to rescind the violation?

The law does not apply if the person under 21 years of age is a family member, or if it can be proven that the incident occurred for religious purposes.

Can the adult be sued?

Arkansas law specifically exempts social host liability for providing alcohol to persons over the legal age.







Share This Page

Select Another State?

Are there local laws that I should be aware of?

It is possible. Check with your local municipality since there are some communities that enact additional local ordinances which can include fines and other penalties.